Privacy Policy

PRAXAIR PRIVACY POLICY

Last updated: February 13, 2014

Please also refer to Praxair's Privacy Statement.

In this Policy, “Praxair” means Praxair Canada Inc., and includes its affiliates in Canada. “You” and “Your” means the individual who discloses personal information to Praxair.

Praxair's Commitment

Praxair is committed to protecting the privacy of the personal information that it collects, uses, discloses and stores. This Privacy Policy describes the principles that Praxair has adopted and put into practice to maintain the privacy of personal information that it collects, uses, discloses and stores in the course of doing business.

What is Personal Information

Personal information is any information about an identifiable individual that relates to that individual’s personal characteristics (for example, sex, age, home address, phone number) or information that allows an individual to be identified.

Praxair's Privacy Principles

Praxair follows the following accepted principles to guide us in safeguarding your personal information.

1. Accountability:

Praxair’s Privacy Officer is accountable for compliance by Praxair with the privacy principles. Praxair’s Privacy Officer may be contacted as indicated in Paragraph 10 below.

2. Identifying Purposes:
Prior to the collection of your personal information, Praxair will explain to you the purpose for which we collect your personal information, and how your personal information will be used or disclosed. Except as expressly set forth in this Privacy Policy, Praxair does not use or disclose your personal information for any purpose other than the purposes for which we have informed you, unless we have obtained your consent to do so.

3. Obtaining Your Consent:
In general, Praxair obtains your consent before collecting, using or disclosing to other persons your personal information, except where otherwise permitted or required by law. Depending on the circumstances and the type of personal information collected, your consent may be expressed orally, in writing or it may be implied. In certain circumstances, your consent will be implied when, acting reasonably, Praxair can conclude that by taking a certain action, you have given your consent. In certain circumstances, we may obtain your consent through your authorized representative, such as your substitute decision maker.

We may collect, use, retain or disclose personal information about you without your consent for legitimate business purposes, including:

  • to satisfy legal and regulatory requirements, or
  • to collect a debt owed to Praxair.

You have the right to refuse to give personal information to Praxair. If you have given consent to Praxair to collect, use and disclose your personal information, you may withdraw your consent at any time by contacting Praxair’s Privacy Officer. If you choose to withdraw or refuse to give consent, Praxair may not be able to provide or continue to provide certain services or information to you.

4. Collection:
Most personal information that we collect comes directly from you. For example, we collect information through order forms or direct personal contact for the purchase of products or services. In order to provide products or services to you, we may also collect personal information from third parties (for example, from credit bureaus).

Praxair collects only personal information that is necessary for the purpose identified and that a reasonable person would consider appropriate in the circumstances or as is otherwise permitted or required by law.

5. Use, Disclosure and Retention:

Generally, we use the personal information collected from you for the following purposes:

  • To provide products and on-going services to you;
  • To determine your eligibility (for example, to verify status with credit bureaus and to determine coverage under health insurance plans where we are providing healthcare services to you and for billing purposes);
  • To determine appropriateness of care or justification of charges in connection with the provision of healthcare products and services; and,
  • To provide you with information about products and services that may be of interest to you.

To carry out its legitimate business purposes, Praxair may from time to time disclose your personal information to government regulatory agencies, companies affiliated with Praxair and other third parties to perform services on behalf of Praxair for the purposes explained in this Privacy Policy and as permitted or required by law. When your personal information is disclosed to an affiliate or third party service provider, Praxair will require that the affiliate/service provider to agree to protect your personal information in accordance with this Privacy Policy.

In the event of a sale, amalgamation, re-organization, transfer or financing of parts of some or all of Praxair’s business, your personal information may be disclosed to an acquiring organization either as part of due diligence or on completion of the transaction. If your personal information is ever disclosed in this context, Praxair will require the acquiring organization to agree to protect your personal information in accordance with this Privacy Policy.

Other than as set forth above, personal information is not used or disclosed by Praxair other than for those purposes for which it was collected without your consent or as permitted or required by law.

Personal information is retained by Praxair only as long as necessary for the purpose for which it was collected or as required by law. Praxair does not sell personal information to third parties.

In order to facilitate our provision of products and services to you, Praxair may transfer your personal information outside of Canada to an affiliate or a third-party service provider for storage and processing, including transfers to the United States (for example, for the purpose of conducting product recalls). In this case, your personal information would be subject to the laws of the country to which it is transferred and stored. That country may have laws that require that your personal information be disclosed to government agencies under different circumstances than would Canada. However, in the context of a transfer outside of Canada, Praxair requires that your personal information be collected, used and disclosed only as permitted under applicable laws.

6.Accuracy:
Praxair will make reasonable effort to ensure that your personal information is accurate, complete and up-to-date as is necessary for the purposes for which it is collected. You have the right to request that Praxair correct inaccurate information and may do so by contacting Praxair’s Privacy Officer.

7.Safeguards:
Praxair utilizes appropriate technological and physical security controls to safeguard unauthorized use or disclosure of personal information.

8.Openness:
We invite individuals who have additional questions or concerns about the privacy of personal information to contact Praxair’s Privacy Officer. Praxair’s Privacy Officer will respond to such questions or concerns within a reasonable timeline.

9. Individual Access:
Individuals may ask to view their personal information retained by Praxair by writing to Praxair’s Privacy Officer. We will correct any inaccurate personal information upon appropriate request.

In some cases, Praxair may not provide access to personal information within our possession or control, including in the following circumstances:

  • if doing so would reasonably be expected to threaten the life or security of another individual;
  • disclosure would reveal confidential commercial information;
  • the personal information is protected by solicitor/client privilege; or
  • the information was collected during the investigation of a legal matter or for purposes related to the detection and prevention of fraud.

If we are unable to provide you with access to your personal information, we will advise you in writing of the reason for the refusal unless we are prohibited from doing so by law.

10. Compliance and the Complaint Process
If you have any questions or concerns about Praxair’s Privacy Policy or practices, wish to verify, update or correct your personal information, make any inquiries or requests concerning your personal information or if you wish to lodge a complaint, you may do so by contacting Praxair’s Privacy Officer in Canada, either:

In writing, addressed to:
Praxair Canada Inc.
1 City Centre Drive, Suite 1200
Mississauga, Ontario, L5B 1M2
Attention: Privacy Officer – Human Resources Department

Email: Privacy_Officer_Canada@praxair.com

Or,

By confidential toll free telephone, at 1-866-896-6866

Please be sure to include your name, address, preferred method of communication, the nature of your complaint and relevant details, including your past communications with us.

Updates

We may update this Privacy Policy at any time by posting updated text on this site. When we make changes to this Privacy Policy we will notify you here so we encourage you to review this Privacy Policy from time to time. We may also attempt to notify you of any such changes to our Privacy Policy by placing a notice on our home page but are not required to do so.

Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels

POLITIQUE SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Dernière mise à jour : le 13 février 2014 

Veuillez aussi consulter la Déclaration de confidentialité de Praxair.

Dans la présente politique, le nom « Praxair » désigne Praxair Canada inc., y compris ses sociétés affiliées au Canada. Les termes « vous », « votre » et « vos » renvoient à la personne qui divulgue des renseignements personnels à Praxair.

Engagement de Praxair

Praxair s'engage à protéger la confidentialité des renseignements personnels qu'elle recueille, utilise, divulgue et stocke dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales. La présente Politique décrit les principes que Praxair a adoptés et mis en pratique afin d'assurer cette protection.

Définition de renseignements personnels

Les « renseignements personnels » sont des informations qui sont propres à un individu identifiable et qui concernent ses caractéristiques distinctives (par exemple, sexe, âge, adresse, numéro de téléphone), ou des informations qui permettent d'identifier un individu.

Principes de Praxair en matière de protection des renseignements personnels

Afin de protéger vos renseignements personnels, Praxair applique les principes reconnus suivants :

1. Responsabilité
C'est le Responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels de Praxair qui rend compte de la conformité de Praxair avec les principes de protection des renseignements personnels. Vous pouvez entrer en contact avec ce Responsable de la manière indiquée au paragraphe 10 ci-dessous.

2. Identification du motif de la cueillette d'information
Avant de recueillir des renseignements personnels vous concernant, Praxair vous expliquera pourquoi elle a besoin de ces renseignements, et comment ils seront utilisés ou divulgués. Sauf indication contraire explicitement établie dans la présente Politique, Praxair n'utilise et ne divulgue ces renseignements que pour les motifs qu'elle vous a expliqués, à moins d'obtenir votre consentement.

3. Obtention de votre consentement
En règle générale, Praxair obtient votre consentement avant de recueillir, d'utiliser ou de divulguer à des tiers des renseignements personnels vous concernant, sauf lorsque la loi le permet ou l'exige. Selon la situation et le type de renseignements personnels recueillis, votre consentement peut être exprès, verbal, écrit ou tacite. Dans certains cas, Praxair peut raisonnablement conclure que vous donnez implicitement votre consentement en agissant de telle ou telle manière. Dans d'autres cas, Praxair pourra obtenir votre consentement par l'intermédiaire de votre représentant autorisé, par exemple votre décideur remplaçant.

Nous pouvons recueillir, utiliser, stocker ou divulguer des renseignements personnels vous concernant sans votre consentement à des fins commerciales légitimes, notamment :

  • pour satisfaire à des exigences de lois ou de règlements; ou
  • pour recouvrer une somme due à Praxair.

Vous avez le droit de refuser de fournir des renseignements personnels à Praxair. Si vous avez donné à Praxair votre consentement à la cueillette, à l'utilisation et à la divulgation des renseignements personnels vous concernant, vous pouvez le retirer n'importe quand en vous adressant au Responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels de Praxair. Si vous retirez votre consentement ou si vous refusez de le donner, Praxair pourrait ne pas être en mesure de vous fournir ou de continuer de vous fournir certains services ou certaines informations.

4. Cueillette
La plupart des renseignements personnels que nous recueillons à votre sujet proviennent directement de vous. Par exemple, vous nous fournissez des renseignements sur des formules de commande ou durant des contacts personnels directs en vue d'acheter des produits ou des services. Afin de vous fournir des produits et des services, nous devons parfois recueillir auprès de tiers (par exemple des agences d'évaluation du crédit) des renseignements personnels vous concernant.

Praxair ne recueille que les renseignements personnels dont elle a besoin pour les motifs exposés, renseignements qu'une personne raisonnable considérerait comme appropriés dans les circonstances, ou dont la cueillette est permise ou prescrite par la loi.

5. Utilisation, divulgation et conservation
En règle générale, nous utilisons les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons de vous aux fins ci-dessous, sans s’y restreindre y compris:

  • pour vous fournir des produits ou des services continus;
  • pour déterminer votre admissibilité (par exemple pour vérifier votre situation auprès d'une agence d'évaluation du crédit, pour délimiter la couverture assurée par un régime d'assurance maladie lorsque nous vous fournissons des soins de santé, ou pour la facturation);
  • pour déterminer la pertinence des soins ou justifier les montants facturés relativement à la fourniture de produits et de services de soins de santé
  • pour vous informer sur les produits et services susceptibles de vous intéresser.

Pour exercer ses activités commerciales légitimes, Praxair peut occasionnellement divulguer des renseignements personnels vous concernant à des organismes de réglementation, à ses sociétés affiliées ou à des tiers qui exécuteront des services pour le compte de Praxair aux fins exposées dans la présente politique, et comme la loi le permet ou le prescrit. Lorsque ces renseignements personnels sont divulgués à une société affiliée ou à un tiers fournisseur de services, Praxair exige d'eux qu'ils consentent à les protéger conformément à la présente politique.

Dans le cas d'une vente, d'une fusion, d'une réorganisation, de la cession ou du financement en tout ou en partie des activités commerciales de Praxair, des renseignements personnels vous concernant pourraient être divulgués à l'acquéreur dans le cadre de l'exercice de diligence raisonnable ou de l'exécution de la transaction. Si ces renseignements devaient être divulgués dans ce contexte, Praxair exigerait de l'acquéreur qu'il consente à les protéger conformément à la présente politique.

Sauf dans les cas susmentionnés, Praxair n'utilisera ni ne divulguera de renseignements personnels vous concernant à des fins autres que celles qui ont été exposées, sauf avec votre autorisation, ou si la loi le permet ou le prescrit.

Praxair conserve les renseignements personnels tant qu'ils sont nécessaires pour les fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou tant que la loi le prescrit. Praxair ne vend pas de renseignements personnels à des tiers.

Pour faciliter la prestation de nos services et la fourniture de nos produits, Praxair peut transférer les renseignements personnels vous concernant à l'extérieur du Canada, à une société affiliée ou à un tiers fournisseur de services, aux fins de stockage et de traitement, notamment aux États-Unis (par exemple pour les rappels de produits). Dans ce cas, les renseignements personnels sont soumis à législation du pays qui les reçoit et les stocke. Ce pays peut avoir adopté des lois prévoyant la divulgation des renseignements personnels à des agences gouvernementales dans des situations différentes de celles qui sont prévues par la loi au Canada. En cas de transfert de renseignements personnels à l'étranger, Praxair exige toutefois que ceux-ci soient recueillis, utilisés et divulgués conformément aux lois en vigueur.

6. Exactitude
Praxair consentira tous les efforts raisonnables pour s'assurer que les renseignements personnels sont exacts, complets et à jour, comme ils doivent l'être pour les fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis. Vous avez le droit de demander à Praxair de corriger une information inexacte; pour ce faire, contactez le Responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels de Praxair.

7. Mesures de protection
Praxair recourt aux mesures de sécurité physiques et technologiques appropriées pour protéger les renseignements personnels contre une utilisation ou une divulgation non autorisée.

8. Transparence
Nous vous invitons à adresser vos questions ou commentaires sur la protection de la vie privée et des renseignements personnels au Responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels de Praxair, qui vous répondra dans un délai raisonnable.

9. Accessibilité
Une personne peut demander au Responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels de Praxair à voir les renseignements personnels que possède Praxair à son sujet. Praxair corrigera tout renseignement inexact à la demande en bonne et due forme de cette personne.

Dans certains cas, Praxair pourrait refuser de donner accès aux renseignements personnels en sa possession ou sous son contrôle, notamment :

  • si cet accès compromettait la vie ou la sécurité d'une autre personne;
  • si cet accès risquait d'entraîner la divulgation d'informations commerciales confidentielles;
  • si les renseignements personnels sont protégés par le secret professionnel;
  • si les renseignements ont été recueillis dans le cadre d'une enquête sur une affaire juridique, ou liée à la détection et à la prévention de la fraude.

S'il nous est impossible de vous donner accès aux renseignements personnels vous concernant, nous vous informerons par écrit du motif du refus, à moins que la loi nous interdise de le faire.

10. Conformité et processus de plainte
Si vous désirez formuler des questions ou des commentaires à propos de la politique ou des méthodes de Praxair en matière de protection des renseignements personnels; vérifier, mettre à jour ou corriger les renseignements personnels qui vous concernent; faire des demandes d’explications ou autres à propos de ces renseignements; recevoir une copie du code de protection des renseignements personnels de Praxair ou déposer une plainte, veuillez communiquer avec le responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels de Praxair au Canada :

Par écrit :
Praxair Canada inc.
1, City Centre Drive
Bureau 1200
Mississauga (Ontario) L5B 1M2
À l’attention du Responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels – Service des ressources humaines

Par courriel : Privacy_Officer_Canada@praxair.com

Ou

Par téléphone, sans frais, au 1-866-896-6866

Veuillez donner votre nom, votre adresse, le mode de communication que vous privilégiez, la nature de votre plainte et tous les autres détails pertinents, dont vos communications antérieures avec nous.

Mises à jour

Nous pouvons actualiser en tout temps la présente Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels en affichant le nouveau texte sur ce site. En cas de tels changements, nous vous en aviserons ici, de sorte que nous vous invitons à consulter la Politique de temps à autre. Nous tenterons également de vous aviser de tout changement à notre Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels en faisant paraître un avis dans notre page d’accueil, mais nous ne sommes pas tenus de le faire.